Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Hello to one and all

Discussion in 'E39 (1997-2003)' started by erapilot, Nov 6, 2008.

erapilot guest

This is my first time here, so please be gentle and don't hurt me. (Where have I heard that before!) I fly helicopters commercially out of Pategonia in, where else but, southern Argentina. I retired from the US Army in '98 - keep the smart cracks to yourself - and recently bought a reeeeeaaaallllly nice 2001 540i. It is my first BMW and my wife calls it my "work car", yeah right. Just after I bought my "work car", I had to return to work, leaving it with my lovely wife. Now while I was in the army, I flew Cobra helicopters for a while. When I took my first training in them, I was told to do a lot of situps. When I asked why, I was told that when doing diving fire, and firing the guns and rockets, all of the blood in my head would rush to a certain part of my body and I might black out. To prevent this I would need to tighten my stomach muscles. This was not exactly true, but close. Well, nobody told me about this 540i. That is almost the closest to having a sexual experience while driving a car that I have ever had. I don't mean to be obscene, but this thing is the cat's meow! When I call and talk with my wife, I ask her how she likes the car. She responds that she is "trying" not to drive "my car" every day. I've been married to this woman for a loooong time and I can tell by her voice. The experience is as good for her as it is for me. After flying helicopters for so long, I know what maintenance intense is and I have read some rather interesting comments about this going out and that breaking. Not having much exposure to a BMW, but having owned a look good, go fast Corvette, no one ever prepared me for this thing. Boys and girls, I'm telling you I don't care if syrup goes to a dollar sop, this thing ha