Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

323ci noob

Discussion in 'E46 (1999-2006)' started by Michael Bee, Mar 29, 2010.

Michael Bee guest

Greetings....

New member but not a forum noob. I just bought a 2000 323ci from the original owner (a friend) with 143k on the clock. She is nice but a bit rough around the edges...

See, my friend did NOT maintain this car much past oil changes, brakes, and items that needed to be done that would've prevented him from driving. There is no rust, several dings, some slight cracks in the leather sport seats. I've made a short (HA) list.

- hoses
    - water pump
    - thermostat
    - belts
    - clutch/flywheel (ACK!)
    - tires

Anyone have some advise for a noob? I'm new to the world of the e46 model but not BMWs. I recently returned a 2008 Z4r from lease and I currently drive a 2008 X3 6m and a 1980 VW Scirocco.... ;)

Any thoughts are welcome as soon as Fri comes and I physically have the car I'll snap some pics.

Zeichen311

The hit parade of common E46 foibles: http://www.bimmerfest.com/wiki/index.php?title=BMW_E46#What_should_I_look_out_for.3F

Other things that spring to mind:
    • O2 sensors - service life is 100,000 miles. If your friend never replaced them, expect them to fail any minute.
    • Coolant expansion tank & support bracket - If you plan to replace hoses, water pump and thermostat in one go, add these to the list if you can afford it (around $150 for both IIRC). They will fail eventually (mine lasted about 200K, most don't).
    • Valve cover gasket may start to leak soon, if it hasn't already. Easy DIY repair but take care to do it right or it will spring a leak again before long.
    • Buy the Bentley manual if you haven't already! (See "do it right," above. ;))
    • Fuel filter?
    • Parking brakes may need adjustment