Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

looking to buy '01 740i

Discussion in 'E38 (1995-2001)' started by jdw928, Mar 19, 2008.

jdw928

Hi all!!

I'm a newbie lookie for some information and even more some good advice.

Just this past weekend I looked at a 2001 740i with 81K miles looks to be in pretty good condition. The asking price is $15k. What should I be looking for? Dont have any service records available. Tried emailing the BMW dealer in eastern PA, but got no reply. I just dont want any surprises.

Best I can tell it may need rear brakes, has trim piece below passenger door missing, couple in interior items mechanically not working. Some other exterior trim has dry rotted. It sits in a 1/8" channel above door line and below roof.

Looking forward to hearing from anybody - good or bad.

Thanks,

JDW

Bayerische guest

That doesn't sound horrible, yet it is hard to tell without seeing the car. Is it a sport or regular i?

A friend recently paid $17.5K for an 01 740i Sport w/premium, luxury..
    great looking car and only had 50K miles.
    Every week something breaks on it. Radiator, drive belt idler pulley, windshield.

It isn't a cheap car to own, the fuel alone should kill you, and yes you will have surprises but none too bad.
    The price is decent for a sport, high for a non-sport (depending on condition).

The rotting seals above the door trim could mean leaking starting soon in the rear cabin.

jdw928

740i

Thanks for reply!

Its just a regular 740i, not a sport. I can send the link to dealer website if thats ok. We also looked at a 2001 540i with sport and cold weather package. It has M emblems on the steering wheel and on the wheels I believe, but i dont think its a real M5 though.

whh740i guest

01 740i