Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

The Audi Guy is a convert

Discussion in 'Member Introductions' started by danix, Apr 11, 2014.

danix

When I was a wide-eyed lad of 12 and living in Portugal, the likes of Hannu Mikkola and Michele Mouton sliding by me at high speed in their Audi quattro cars made me want to own one.
    In 1992, I took over running the quattro mailing list and created audifans.com, and have run it ever since. Living in NY, I owned a long string of Audis, then VWs, then VW TDIs. I always had so many VW/Audi in the driveway in some state of repair, my neighbor thought I was a VW mechanic. I eventually started a parts business specializing in TDIs, then sold that business and moved west.

Faced with horrible CA traffic, I bought a used Prius with HOV stickers to improve my commute and reduce my fuel costs. When those stickers expired, I sold the Prius and got a Jetta TDI, which turned out to be a lemon. Sold it.

Now you're wondering, where's the BMW content?
    I replaced the TDI with a new leased 2011 335d with MSport. Now I had the MPGs, and an amazing handling car. I wondered - why haven't I ever considered BMW (cars) before? [I've owned BMW motorcycles].

The 335d led me to start learning about older BMW models. My 7 year old son loves the show "Wheeler Dealers" and we talked about buying a car to fix up and sell.
    I ended up finding a 1988 E30 convertible, and have been working on it (and driving it) over the last few months. After years of not wrenching, it was fun to immerse myself into new challenges and a car with great engineering (but some quirks, like removing an inner balljoint nut!)