Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

New member and ecstatic new BMW owner from Lancaster, CA

Discussion in 'Member Introductions' started by krwalsh, Nov 28, 2011.

krwalsh

Hello CCA! When a friend/co-worker (who's been driving BMW's for years) heard I was buying my 1st BMW he told me to join the CCA. Last Tuesday (11/22) I joined the CCA then that night picked up my new '11 335d from Valencia BMW. It's sapphire black with oyster/black interior; sport package; premium package; navigation, w/ BMW assist, enhanced BT & USB; heated front seats; sat radio; ipod & USB adapter; and fold-down rear seats (for my bicycle). I've been driving Hondas for 30 years - this 335d is incredible! I can't believe I'm driving this car!

I'm currently looking for some advice. This is also my 1st lease. I've always owned my cars. I did some research on leasing and thought I was prepared for the finance person. As of now, my BMW experience has been tainted because the finance person "scared" me into buying the "Tire and Wheel" protection package and the "Appearance" package. For Hondas I never considered buying any protection package. The finance person told me how much the tires and wheels cost and the potential costs at the end of the lease period. He said these packages will protect my investment. I got caught up in his logic and bought these packages against my better judgement. Sure enough, when I talked with my insurance company, I am protected with a $500 deductible. I called the finance person back to cancel these protection packages and he told me I couldn't cancel the "Appearance" package. He could cancel the "Tire and Wheel protection" package but my lease payment would remain the same (as if I still had the package) until the last 2 months of the 3-year lease - when I wouldn't have a lease payment. I've never heard of such a thing before.