Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

M Coupe as track car

Discussion in 'E85/E86 Z4 M roadster/coupe (2006-2008)' started by macdaddy, Jan 1, 2009.

macdaddy guest

I'm considering a 2006 M Coupe as a weekend and track car. I'm an instructor for BMW CCA, PCA, and various other organizations, but the only cars I've tracked have been Mazdas - a Spec Miata I race in SCCA and NASA, and a 3rd gen RX7 that was a street legal track car. I've sold the RX7 and am now looking for something to take its place. I've driven the M Coupe on a test drive on public streets, and have instructed a student in one, as well. It has some nice torque down low and responsive steering, though the suspension feels a little soft, even in "Sport" mode. Are there any specific issues with this car for serious track use? Other than a roll bar, harnesses, and brake pads, any other upgrades I'll need, such as brake ducting, stiffer front roll bar, lowering springs, etc? Any comments on handling in stock configuration? When you turn the DSC off, is it really off? All comments welcome. Thanks.

MGarrison

I recall hearing comments that they can be twitchy at their handling limits; since you're obviously experienced, you'd have to decide how comfortable you are in dealing with whatever degree of twitchiness may be there. However, I would tend to think it could be modified appropriately to minimize negative handling traits. I think TC Kline has tuned the Z cars extensively, for one - http://www.tcklineracing.com/index.htm.

Ideal thing would be to drive one at speed on track and see how it feels to you. If you're much over 6' tall, you might not necessarily expect to fit in it w/ a helmet on.

Stainless steel brake lines are always helpful for track duty, but not an absolute must.