Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

I guess I'm a new thread....

Discussion in 'E21 (1977-1983)' started by constanh, Jun 14, 2009.

constanh guest

Hi. I'm new to the BMW club, but not to the cars themselves. I've purchased 4 in my life, but one is nearest to my heart. My 1983 BMW 320IS, which I still have. Two other BMWs have come and gone, but I'll never part with my first.

I bought my car through Harloff BMW, in February of 1983, in Encinitas, CA. Spending the extra money on the S package seemed like a way to get the best car I could, since '83 was the last year of the 320 model.

I got Bronzit Beige, new that year. I was told (probably not true!) that only 3,000 320i's would be painted that color (and only S's), since Bronzit was meant soley for the bigger BMWs. Anthracite interior, BBS wheels, Recaro seats...etc.

My car is original, and has 118,000 miles. No crashes or door dings. No rust, garaged, and always covered if outside. My interest is to keep my car original. May I ask some questions?

The aluminum (?) frames around the windshield and rear window need to be replaced. They're not pitted as much as discolored. Kind of mottled. How is that handled?

I just the clear coat removed from the front bumper, because there were "pits" in the finish. (Not the metal itself.) The guy had a hard time getting it off, but it looks decent, but he couldn't strip the "leading edge". Can you tell me how to do that?

My driver's door latch has a piece missing that the BMW dealerships swear never existed. It's a white plastic kind of C-shaped thing that kept the door closed. It fell apart one day when I opened the door. I even saved the piece. They still said it wasn't from my car. Without that piece, though, the door closes but isn't really latched. Even though it LOOKS closed.