Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

E90 Sunroof Cassette Problem

Discussion in 'E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006-2011)' started by ross.m.litman, Aug 23, 2010.

ross.m.litman

Hey everybody,

As a new member of BMW CCA (as in this year), this is my first time using these forums so bear with me on this first run. I was hoping if any fellow members could provide me insight on this issue:

I drive a 2008 E90 328i with sport package and manual transmission, and about 2 weeks ago noticed a loud rattling coming from the rear of the interior of the car. Now at first I thought it might have been something loose in the trunk, however it turned out it was coming from inside the rear portion of the headliner. The rattling only seemed to be occurring when the sunroof was open. I brought it into my dealer (Ray Catena BMW of Westchester) and they mentioned that some type of plastic retaining clip had broken (the service advisor had a thick accent which I could not quite understand) and that the cassette needed replacement. The car has been with them 7 days (as of this Tuesday 8/24/10) because the part was on backorder. Can anybody enlighten me as to what this is and if this problem has occurred on any other E90s?

Pyewacket1

Sorry... The only time I have had that experience was on a GM vehicle, which doesn't apply here.

But..

If the part is on backorder, why is your car still there?

Isn't it drivable?

Frankly, if my car was awaiting parts on backorder, otherwise drivable, and the dealer didn't inform me, I'd be TICKED! (Unless, I was driving an M3 loaner!)

Maybe there's more to this than I understand.

ross.m.litman