Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Bilstein PSS 9

Discussion in 'E36 M3 (1995-1999)' started by tjrinaldi, Oct 25, 2010.

tjrinaldi

So I am curious about others' thoughts/satisfaction with their Bilstein PSS 9 system...

I have installed on my '95 the entire system with the 9-way dampening shocks. Also done to finish up the mix are:
    - TMS swaybars F/R
    - w/ adj. sway links F/R
    - TMS adj. rear camber arms (awesome!)
    - TMS rear trailing arm bushings (hard anodized)
    - all other susp. bushings very solid/tight and functional (includes control arms, steering rack, tie rods, etc...)

My initial thoughts after the installation were that the car felt VERY nimble and tight. The spring stiffness was a pleasant surprise for on the track. Through time though (I have been driving this setup for 8 months) I am beginning to dislike the stiffness of the springs on the street. I do know that the car has an aggressive setup and I should not be trying to get the best of both worlds, but what are some of the settings the rest of you guys use who are like me? I want an aggressive setup for the track (which by the way the car is simply amazing on) but still be able to drive daily in the summer with the occasional nice long freeway trip. I realize there is a bumpier ride all in all and this does not bother me, but the fiancee is becoming slightly annoyed with the ride during longer trips.