Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

2008 E60 M5 To Buy or Not To Buy?

Discussion in 'E60 M5 (2006-present)' started by ChrisHocheCLT, Jul 26, 2016.

ChrisHocheCLT

Hey everyone, first timer here, how's everyone doing?

I have been driving a 2012 535i M-Sport for a few years and have recently had an urge to finally get a E60 M5, which I've had on my bucket list for some time.

I read a lot about the SMG Pumps and Vanos issues, also bearings...

Can anyone shed some light, or helpful guidance or experience when looking to buy a preowned E60 with 85k-100k miles... The one I am looking at isn't SMG but Manual transmission... or should I stick to SMG?

What should I look for specifically when asking for the service history before buying an E60? OR should I just not buy?

Thanks in advance everyone!

MGarrison