Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

That makes me second!

Discussion in 'E30 (1984-1993)' started by e30guy, Mar 6, 2008.

e30guy guest

Charlottesville, Virginia BMW e30 owner here. Anyone who might have insight into suspension related issues please chime in!

BrianLoeb guest

Hey E30Guy,

I could probably help you a little , it could not hurt right ? i am an Automotive student at UTI in Arizona. Let me know what the problem is,like i said maybe i could help a bit.Let me know.

Your fellow E30 nut in Arizona.

Odiekokee

I might be able to help a little myself, mostly with the front. I've rebuilt the whole front suspension, exceptions being the springs and struts themselves.

e30guy guest

Well here is what I have done:

• New front brakes
    • New front rotors (car was shaking much worse)
    • New control arm bushings

There is a 'general' slight shake, starting say around 50-55. It's not terrible, just annoying. I don't notice any sort of vibration as a passenger - the sensation is transmitted into the steering wheel only.

Last inspection was August '07. At the time I asked the garage to let me know if anything was really wearing; one tie rod is 4 years old and I am not sure of the age of the other components.

BrianLoeb guest

Front end re-build anyone ?

E30 Guy ,

I was talking to a friend of mine tonight who is very well versed in E30 and also attends school with me, he owns a 89 325is (which i might add is very nice) he has informed me that it is time to get a front end re-build. New control arms, ball joints,tie rods..etc. However with out really getting a good look see, i would say take it to an independent shop that specializes in BMW. Let me know, hope this helps a bit.

e30guy guest

Well, throwing enough $$$ at it will certainly work! He's probably right.

BrianLoeb guest

In Response