Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

335i and M1 0w40

Discussion in 'E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006-2011)' started by 330indy1, Jun 2, 2008.

330indy1

has anyone here read some of the threads at BITOG about the DI of N54 and fuel dilution with Mobil 1?

mlweaver

high air pressures - high fuel pressures - hot oil temps

legitimate worries ... but no conclusions possible.
    We'll know the answer in hind-sight when these cars start reaching 100,000 miles.
    In the meanwhile, choose who you want to believe and follow their advice.

(glad I'm leasing!)

David1

As long as you drive 10 to 20 miles a day I wouldn't worry about it. I have been doing extended oil drains in various cars for 10+ years. I put the M1 0-40 in my 335 and My X3 just gets the dealer stuff and just had it's first ouil service at 18k miles and oil analysis showed that it still had some life left. My friends Porsche is every 20k miles with M1 and oil analysis on that is fine also.

330indy1

remind me not to buy your X3 when you sell it....;) j/k

here's the link
    http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=981162&Board=48&fpart=all&gonew=1#UNREAD

David1

I have torn down motors with over a 100k with extended drains and they have been fine. Just keep using up our oil for old time thinking.

330indy1

maybe you should take a look at that thread.... :confused:

EuroWerkz1

Hmmm, hate to start a fight but....