Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

New Member in Philadelphia Area - Needs Help with Front Suspension Bushings

Discussion in 'E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006-2011)' started by mbjg0788, Mar 18, 2014.

mbjg0788 guest

Hello All:
    My name is John Salla. I was born and raised in Springfield, Pennsylvania, about 10 miles southwest of Philadelphia, PA. For the last 28 years, I have been living in South Jersey, about 13 miles form Philadelphia. I am a retired attorney. I bought my first BMW three years ago. I love love the car. I have never driven a car with such handling and speed. I have a 2008 328 xi.
    I went to the dealer this week for routine service. I was told the bushings on my front suspension were worn on both sides and that it would cost more than $500 to replace them. I am a do it yourselfer. I do all the work on my 1987 Jaguar XJS. So I though with some help with someone that has done this project I could save my self some money and get the satisfaction of doing it myself. I do not know much about the mechanics of my car. I believe it is an E90. About the only work I have done on the car is change the oil and top off the fluids. I do have a Haynes Manual and a Bentley Manual. So, if someone is willing to help me, please be patient and be willing to walk me through the basics on this vehicle. I exchanged emails about this project with Ben of your chapter, and I understand the If you replace the whole control arm it is a relatively simple bolt in and out process with the arms costing about $125 each. I thinks this is the route I would go.
    So I look forward to meeting you and working with you.
    John.

MGarrison

Hi John, welcome to the club & forums! Kudos for willingness to tackle a project, I guess the first question is if you were told what needed replacing were the control arm bushings, or ball joints or just what.