Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

How would YOU deal with bad press/PR?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by mrsbee, Nov 20, 2012.

mrsbee guest

So, I've moved on up and have landed a gig writing for a Garden Center Magazine, focused primarily on the business and running of a successful Garden Center.

My first assignment is on how to overcome bad PR - so I'm reaching out to you! If you were a customer of a local business that had a bad PR Rap, what would it take to re instill your faith in the company and continue to give them business.

Obviously this has some overshadowing in other industries, kind of like the whole tire blow out things a while back and recalls occasionally. What does it take?

Any feedback appreciated :)

MGarrison

I'm not a professional PR person - I'd suggest using the PRSA ( http://www.prsa.org/ ) to see if you can find some PR folks to interview. My opinion on how a business might deal with bad press is... the response should vary based on the situation. Some things may require an anticipative response, or pro-active, or direct, or perhaps none at all. In our sound-bite short-attention-span media culture, if something is just likely a negative sound bite news story that is unlikely to resonate or draw further attention, who knows, maybe even no response at all is more appropriate. One has to gauge the nature of the bad press or whatever, and respond appropriately, and intelligently, without over-reacting, (or under-reacting), and in whatever way will lead to the best resolution for the company, or all involved. I tend to think of public relations as a bit of an art, with complicated technical underpinnings, in part based on insight of human individual and collective psychology.

shelbyvnt Baby Bee...