Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Usefulness (and Useability) of Autoenginuity and/or Bavarian Technic Diagnostic Software

Discussion in 'DIY (Do-It-Yourself)' started by clbomo2001, Jan 3, 2012.

clbomo2001

Both Autoenginuity and Bavarian Technic advertise in Roundel. Issue for me is how easy, medium or hard either is to learn to use productively. I am an otherwise PC tech smart person (and DIYer for my 540i 6 spd and my son's 2000 323). I had emailed Autoenginuity with questions like those below but never heard anything back. Still giving Bavarian Technic a couple more days.

I would value any guidance you are willing to share.

Sample questions:

1) Does the same product work for a 1995 e36 5 speed, a 2001 e46 325 (Steptronic) and a 2001 e39 540 (6 speed)?
    2) Are there specific additional cost cable adapters needed for these models?
    3) Does the user have to have technical training in order to understand how best to set up and / or interpret the data that the product renders?
    4) Are there any print or online resources describing the norms for the various tests, e.g. the such-and-such relay should normally read “x”, and if it reads “Y”, there is a problem.
    5) Does Autoenginuity and/or Bavarian Technic provide and/or sell those resources (in print, online)?
    6) Can the equipment be used for "tailoring" tasks like setting door locks, or setting the HVAC front panel - – the one with the buttons? (When replaced with a new unit, the 2001 e39 HVAC dash unit must be set to a specific region, like North America.)

Thanks...

chicane