Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Coupe or Convertible, also, Performance School

Discussion in 'E90/E92/E93 M3 (2008-2013)' started by kwang68@aol.com, Mar 7, 2011.

kwang68@aol.com guest

1) I'm planning on getting an M3 in the coming months and I need to know what some people think between the M3 Coupe or Convertible. I'm moving to Florida for schooling and the chance to use the hard-top seems too hard to miss. However, that unpainted carbon fiber top on the coupe is super attractive. So how do they stack up, is the body compromised in the Convertible, will they allow convertibles onto track days and autocross events? (I'm a bit of a newbie but I'd really like to get started 'pushing my limits') And is the carbon fiber roof not that pretty in comparison? or the feeling of wind in your face in sunny climates too good to ignore? fyi I live in Chicago now with a 335i convertible and while it's amazing to use in the summer months, the winter is a whole new deal, so what say the community?

And...
    2) I plan to surprise my brother with a trip to the teen driving school at the bmw performance center, is there an issue of roundel commenting on this, or any other driving school offered by bmw? or even general thoughts on whether the program is any good/ worth the trip.

MGarrison

Most, if not all, BMWCCA chapter driving schools will not allow convertibles. So, if you want the option of maximum availability of events, you might want to go for the hardtop instead of a convertible.

I think typically, measured unibody stiffness in convertibles is something less than the hardtop versions.