Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Tire Rack and ASA wheels / warranty claim

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Clinesdale, Oct 18, 2010.

Clinesdale guest

I bought a set of ASA wheels from Tire Rack 90 days ago. I noticed yesterday that one of the wheels is flaking badly. I called the Tire Rack and they offered to send me 4 new wheels and would have someone pick up the old wheels a week later.

So far, I am very pleased with their service. I've ordered two sets of wheels and three sets of tires in the last two years from Tire Rack.

M3Driver guest

Tire Rack

Agreed: The Tire Rack is great. I have been purchasing tires from them for around 10 years now. I take them to my local BMW dealer and they mount/balance them for me.

Gary (x386) is the local Tire Rack BMW expert and I believe is also an M car driver. He has never steered me wrong.

Deutsch Marques

I also agree that Tire Rack has done me good in the past. My only gripe with them is they don't carry my preferred brand of tire: Toyo.

M3Driver guest

Not quite on par with The Tire Rack but have you tried Discount Tire Direct?

http://www.discounttiredirect.com

I used them for specific brand of Yokohama tire when I had my 330Ci. They are less frills and their prices and such were comparable.

Clinesdale guest

ASA wheels

As a follow-up to my initial post...

I was getting ready to call Tire Rack to make the arrangements for a warranty pickup and decided to get out another set of ASA wheels from storage to clean them up before putting them up for sale. I noticed that they are also having a surface erosion issue. Instead of flaking, they have squiggly etchings that look like something ate a winding trail through the surface.

I guess I'm done with ASA wheels. As someone noted earlier, you get what you pay for.