Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Getting Blown Away

Discussion in '114 type 1600, 2002, 2002ti/tii (1967-1976)' started by michaelhair1, Apr 16, 2008.

michaelhair1 guest

I have a 1974 2002tii that I bought 6 months ago. I have noticed that on windy days there are times when my contact with the road "breaks loose", and I have to recover before I slide into something. I have some experience with 2002's before and I don't remember this being a problem. Also, someone I work with used to own one of the first 2002tii's (bought in Germany) and he said his never did this.

There are Yokohama P185 / 70R13 - 85S tires on it now.

Any ideas?

Bimmerdan

How strong a wind are we talking about? If we're talking 50 or 60 MPH, I think that would be normal, if we're talking 15 to 20 MPH...not so normal.

I would check the obvious things first, age of the tires, tread condition on the tires, tire pressures and then alignment.

michaelhair1 guest

Right. Tread looks fine. Tires were originally over-inflated, so yes, the problem used to be worse. Tires have been at the owner's manual specs for a few months and I thought I had cured the problem, but it happened again just the other day. I have not had the car in for an alignment, but it tracks straight and I have no other symptoms that would suggest it is off (wierd tire wear, etc.).

Haven't kept track of the wind speeds. In any event, it is highly localized (canyons, passing big rigs, etc.). Generally, Portland Oregon is not too windy, unless you go up the Columbia Gorge.

MGarrison

You might check w/ Yokohama how to check the age of the tires (presumably some code or something will be molded on a sidewall someplace) My primary alignment/tire-installation shop last year advised me that it's recommended not to use tires 10 years old or older.