Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

New class action lawsuit against BMW

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by ForcedInduction, Oct 6, 2010.

rbindc

For the record, I'm NOT a lawyer. But I have to agree with Krieger; class action lawsuits have the potential for producing societal benefits, even if they enrich lawyers. A class action lawsuit is a market-based substitute for direct government regulation aimed at inducing businesses to deliver products that are not defective.

BMW has had ample time to fix the HPFP problem and has failed to do so, given the number of complaints and multiple failures on individual vehicles. I almost cancelled my recent order based on the complaints on this website. It would be nice to know what the probability is that I will experience an HPFP failure but the data are not public to allow me to make that assessment.

Hopefully this lawsuit will get some results.

rbindc

One doesn't have to be a powertrain engineer to know that something is not right when a car suddenly and unexpectedly loses power at high speed on a superhighway. Lawyers may not be capable of designing a fix for the HPFP but they are not idiots.

E92Dreier

Update:

Good Morning America, 10/26/10

ABC News Investigation Prompts Major Action
    Finally, one week after ABC News first contacted the company, the German automaker told ABC News that they would soon announce a "major action" to address the fuel pump issue.

"We understand that people are feeling uncomfortable with the situation and people want to know more, so we're taking action as quickly as possible," Baloga said.

He conceded that questions from ABC News "caused us to decide to take action sooner, rather than later."

Still, it may take longer to restore the faith of their once-loyal customers. "There is nothing that could get me into that car, ever, ever," said Mangot.