Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Another Tire Dilemma

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by lcjhnsn, Jul 7, 2010.

lcjhnsn

With a little different twist...

My case is that my (relatively) new to me 2003 325xiT is going to need tires before winter. Our winters in Southern CT are generally pretty mild with about a half dozen storms of 4 to 6 inches and maybe one 8 to 10 inch'er per year.

The car currently has Michelin Energy MX4 all seasons which are quiet and ride well in the dry. They are starting to hydroplane in heavy rain due to reduced tread. I bought the car in March, so I have no experience with them in any snow, but I suspect the straight ribbed tread is a loser in the snow.

My preference is to run the same tires year 'round but to bias my selection toward snow & wet performance over dry performance. But, I'd still like them to be quiet on the highway.

I've used a couple sets of Goodyear Assurance triple-treads on my old Subaru & the wife's Town & Country. They worked great in heavy rain and dug through the snow pretty well (especially on the Subaru). But they were VERY noisy even when brand new.

After perusing the Tire Rack website, the Conti Extreme Contact DWS is a strong front runner based on ratings and price. Michelin Pilot Exalto A/S is a close second.

Please chime in with your personal experiences and recommendations. I'd also be very interested in comments on tires not available at Tire Rack, like Hakkepalita, Vredestein or Semprit all seasons.

Bumer guest

Hi Lance ;)