Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Blinder Laser System

Discussion in 'E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006-2011)' started by mkgoodman, Jun 23, 2010.

BMWtoyz guest

I have no knowledge of the laws of the state of South Carolina, however generally speed alone does not constitute "reckless driving". That said I have no problem with challenging the citation, however I would not get my hopes up on having it dismissed, you may however be able to get it reduced. Where I live you can get a "derferred judgement", you pay a fee and if you go one year with no citations it goes away (your still out the "fee".) If you do get another citation within a year the old one comes back and both go on your record! (you are only allowed to do this every 7 years).Best of luck and I commend your honesty.

MGarrison

Might have been better to start this as a new thread, however -

You're only wasting your time to show up in court if the ultimate outcome is the same as what it would be if you don't contest the ticket. Without any other evidence to the contrary, unless the officer doesn't show, I wouldn't think there's much chance for dismissal. You'll have to check the state laws as per what constitutes reckless driving. Since your driving in this instance didn't result in a wreck, I suppose this could be a case of wreck-less driving, however wreckless isn't a word (yah, I know, it's only a minor spelling error). Back to the point, I'd tend to think if you were cited only for speeding, that's it - I would figure the officer would point out that your citation constituted reckless driving if that was the case.