Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

New kid on the block

Discussion in 'E38 (1995-2001)' started by Raymond Kunz, Apr 27, 2010.

Raymond Kunz guest

I recently purchased a 2001 740i with the Sport Package and only 55,000 miles on it. I have had it thoroughly checked over and all maintenance brought up to date. It runs great but I really don't know the details about what I have. Although I am a retired Mechanical Engineer the complexity of this machine has me overwhelmed. Just for beginners, what does the Sport Package include? While I have put new tires on the wider, stock rims and new snows on the extra set of rims that were included, I'm still being warned to not even consider driving in the snow. Is this extreme concern justified? I will appreciate any replies and I'm sure to be back with more questions about "Grandpa's new toy".

az3579

No.
    While I admit that it's probably not the best car to take in the snow, you still shouldn't have a problem with it as long as the roads aren't too bad. Naturally you should avoid the snow drifts and only take it out if the roads have been relatively plowed, but it shouldn't have a problem handling light snow duty with the snows on. The automatic transmission definitely doesn't help in the snow situations, but if things look sane out there, don't be hesitant! This applies to any regular passenger vehicle. Don't need no stinkin' AWD!

CRKrieger

That depends on what you consider to be "snow" where you live. It may be that you have to park it a few days a year when you just don't want to be out there in anything. Otherwise, it should be capable of almost daily use in at least 3/4 of the US.

bcweir

Sport package typically consisted of the following items: