Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Which is the right one?

Discussion in 'E36 (1992-1999)' started by Nitendoraku, Apr 4, 2008.

Nitendoraku guest

I'm new to BMW's. Always wanted one and now is my chance. The two I'm looking at are as follows,

1995 318i Boston Green, Manual 5 speed, 36,890 miles, $7,500.00
    1995 325i Dark Blue-M, Automatic, 6,870 miles = $9,800.00

Both have leather/power seats, sunroof, both cars seem to be in excellent shape.

What I'm looking to do with the car is some light modifications, power/suspension/looks etc. I am leaning toward the 318i just because of being an manual transmission. Also I do like to drive automatics. I'm having a tuff time deciding. I have been doing some research on this E36, and what I found is that this is one of the better engines out, but really can't find anything pushing me to the right choice. Any info you guys could provide would be of great service to me. Also if you know of any good sites where it would make decision easier would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

330indy1

umm ... you're not going to like this but,

get a six cylinder with manual transmission....

you won't regret it.

cj morgan guest

the '95 325i seems like a better deal..

eicarguy

both, but...

I drove E30 318i and E30 325. You'll need patience with the slower 318, but the gas mileage is great. Of course now I have a 1998 M3 so I know the cars.

Since they are both OBD1 cars, engine/trans swapping won't be too bad. You'll swap for a stick when the auto quits and you'll need to change engine/trans to get real power into the 318.

I'd lean toward the 318 just because I never had one and I bet they are easy to work on. And the mileage!!

Just my $.02

ei

mattm