Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

DIY or Dealer

Discussion in 'E83 X3 (2004-2010)' started by altazansw, Nov 25, 2009.

altazansw guest

We bought a '06 X3 3.0i in August: CPO with 50,000 miles, It rolled over 60,000 this week and the brake pads light came on this morning on my way home.... Dealer wants 650 for fronts without rotors and 950 with rotors, the backs are 550 without, 750 with..... Ballpark guess of course. I'm a pretty competent mechanic-I do most of the maintenance and repairs on my vehicles. Should I do them myself or pay the dealer?
    Is there something special in the sensors, etc. that the dealer has to reset?

Thanks!

CRKrieger

:eek: DIY!

If your sensor light was on, then you need to replace the sensor because it's usually destroyed when triggered. If you can't tell which one was triggered, replace both. They're cheap. So are pads & rotors if you look to the aftermarket, although these numbers don't look too far out of line for the rotors. Ask how much pads cost if you buy them with your 'CCA discount. RealOEM.com shows Jurids at $160 front and $107 rear. Better yet is if you know how to measure your rotor thickness and discover you don't need them right now. However, if you wait for a light to come on, then you need to have the rotors be no more than 50% down from their original thickness to their minimum spec because no light will tell you when your rotor is too thin. I rarely worry about rotors because I have my wheels off so often and I look at the brakes every time.

IMHO, the labor charge is totally out of line. I am stunned that a job as simple as this one is so commonly viewed as a 'rape the customer' opportunity by dealerships. And they wonder why people call them "stealers" ... :(

pseto

+1, that dealer is trying to rip you a new one. DIY and find another dealer IMO

tiFreak