Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Bavaria Turn Signal Question

Discussion in 'E3 "New 6", 2500, 2800, Bavaria 3.0S & 3.0Si (1968' started by budascribe23, Nov 16, 2009.

budascribe23 guest

I have a 73 Bavaria. My left and right turn signal recently stopped working. The hazard flashers still work. I checked the fuses but they don't seemed burned out (I have yet to replace them). What are the chances both fuses would burn out simultaneously? Could it possibly be a problem in the steering column or something else I'm overlooking? Also would the ceramic fuses used be easy to locate? I am a newbie so thanks for you patience and help!

CRKrieger

Check the fuses first, and use a meter to do it. These fuses can be burned through without looking like it. Beyond that, I would start at the column switches, if both flashers stopped at the same time.

I forget where the Bavaria's fusebox is, but it's #4 here:

[IMG]

BMWCCA1

You might also check to see if the signals will work with the hazard button in another position. Turn on the ignition and a turn-signal. Then push in slowly on the hazard button and release it slowly to see if there is any position along the travel of the button that will allow the turn-signal to engage other than the 4-ways. If I remember correctly, the signals run through the flasher switch and the switch was always a week point. I recall jamming the tapered end of a plastic cable tie in between the hazard button and it's housing to lock it into a spot where the signals would operate. Maybe your problem is as simple as a new flasher switch. It's worth checking out.