Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

buying 2001 540i

Discussion in 'E39 (1997-2003)' started by jdw928, Mar 19, 2008.

jdw928

Hi all!!

I'm a newbie lookie for some information and even more some good advice.

Just this past weekend I looked at a 2001 540i with sport and cold weather packages. The car has 100K miles looks to be in pretty good condition. Its an automatic with Tiptronic? and asking price $15k. What should I be looking for? Dont have any service records available. I just dont want any surprises. Looking forward to hearing from anybody - good or bad.

Thanks,

JDW

GregS_WI guest

I'd be very cautious

A higher mileage car without the service records is a real gamble. I love my BMWs but they are not cheap to keep on the road -- parts & labor is expensive plus lots of stuff just seems to break. If you can get it well below 'book' then maybe, if you can handle expensive repairs otherwise, keep looking for a car with maintenance records. If you are OK with an auto, you will have many to choose from.

Good luck, enjoy!

boknnon guest

The 540 is a great car but for sure has high maintenance costs. I had to replace the transmission just out of warranty (65k miles) and it cost $6000.00. :mad: The dealerships don't even waste their time trying to rebuild them, so unless you know that car's had a new tranny, you might want to factor that into the savings of a non-CPO vehicle vs one still under warranty.