Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

To 335 or not to 335, that is the (serous) question!

Discussion in 'E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006-2011)' started by Reef, Nov 9, 2008.

Reef guest

To 335 or not to 335, that is the (serious) question!

First, hello everyone. I'm fairly new here, and joined because after 20+ years of dreaming, I'm am about ready to take the leap into a new BMW. I've been saving for several years, and April 2010 is D-month for a new 3-series convertible.

What I'd like to hear from you all is if in your opinion the 335i worth the extra bit? My current take is that since I'm spending all this money and fulfilling a dream, I should go for the gold and get the 335i. However, the great equalizer (great woman, btw) has compelling arguments against. I've decided on a manual shift to save some money, plus it is the obvious choice for fun driving :)

Here's my current goal:
    335i(?) Manual Convertible

Beyond engine tech and power, what reasons are there to go 335i over 328i?

Oh, and here's a stupid bit for you to comment on as well if you care to: Has anyone tried to put a hidden subwoofer in a 335i? Bav Sound has a 328 sub, but no 335i because of the exhaust routing.

mlweaver

Great cars, a convertible will be nice.
    With a manual transmission, you can't go wrong with either choice.
    If I were purchasing new, I would base the decision on how long I expected to keep the car:
    If keeping past 100,000 miles I think the 328 or 330 would possibly avoid the long term engine issues that MAY affect the relatively untested twin turbo engine.
    If I were planning to sell it before 100,000 miles, the 335 is a lot of fun ...

az3579