Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

New from Richmond VA

Discussion in 'South Central Region' started by JillianRVA, May 30, 2018.

JillianRVA

Hi, my dad has been a long time BMW owner. He recently passed away and I now have his car. It is a 1997 528i in mint condition and only 19k miles. When I recently took it to a dealer to be serviced, I found out how special the car is. We were planning to sell it but have decided to keep it. I am new to BMW and looking forward to learn more about the car and the brand.

MGarrison

Wow, very low miles - sorry to hear about your dad, my condolences to your & your family. Such low mileage of course, wouldn't expect any of the usual stuff one hears about to be an issue yet. However, there's still aging from passage of time. Tires for instance - no way the original tires would have been worn out at such a low mileage, but tires simply age-out; if the tires on the car have never been replaced or were but are now 10-11 yrs. old again, it would be highly advisable to put some new tires on the car, & the spare too would be a good idea.

There's a code molded into the sidewall, use this as a guide to figure out how old the tires are (use a flashlight to help scope out the sidewalls - easier to see with some additional light):
    https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=11