Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Start of the 2001 740 project

Discussion in 'E38 (1995-2001)' started by ERICHMOND528I, Dec 27, 2016.

ERICHMOND528I

Hi everyone,

I am new to BMWCCA and this is my first post. I just purchased a 2001 740i today. The car was a great deal (we will see about that). It has 175,000 miles, runs very rough with knocking sounds, the GPS display doesn't work, the radio turns on and off, I am getting error codes for camshaft control, knock sensor 1, knock sensor 3, air intake temperature, and engine temperature. I did however drive the car 50 miles home with no issues aside from the noise. But hey, it was only $650 and the body and interior are in good condition!

I will be diving into the car this week as I am off for the holidays and will be uploading pictures along the way. Any helpful tips or advice is always welcome.

Cheers!

MGarrison

Welcome to the club & forums! Since you just got this and for such little $$$ - google search for BMW E38 problems (or try also issues) and same with BMW M62 (the engine in your car). Bimmerforums as well as others, you should find lots of posts on the myriad issues.

Browse through them and try to get a sense of the expense involved in resolving these issues. In a recent facebook post I commented the reason there's cheap E38 7's everywhere going for $3k or less, it's quite likely they'll need $6k of work, and that's if you don't need the auto trans replaced ($2.5-$3k for rebuilt, $2.5k in labor to do the swap).