Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Wet Paint Glaze...

Discussion in 'Detailing' started by 327350, Mar 7, 2008.

Well, I've tried just about every kind of wax on the planet, and I'll try just about anything new that comes along just for kicks but Wet Paint Glaze is something like I've never used before.

I happened onto this product, suprisingly enough, on a Porsche forum. The pictures of the car in the post were beautiful and the owner stated that he rarely washed the car! He claimed to have used WPG all through the cars' life mostly because he lived in a very water waste sensitive area (I believe it was Phoenix). OK, sigh me up. I contacted the WPG people and within 5 days I was looking at the product.

Being a confirmed Griot's Garage fan I was skeptical as heck of a product that washed and waxed your car when it was dirty. No way I was going to try that stuff on my beloved 330ci so I elected to try it out on my wife's Victory Red Chevy Tahoe. It had been washed about a week prior and had set outside in the weather so it was a prime candidate to try the WPG on. Chevy's around my house are expendable,so on with the test.

The Tahoe gets clayed every year so the paint was smooth to start out with. I picked an inconspicious area (lower quarter panel, right behind the rear wheel) and, following the directions, applied the WPG and rubbed the product in and buffed the stuff off and, viola, the paint shined like new!!! got brave, did the whole quarter panel - hey this stuff is nice! Did the whole car - wow! this Victory Red paint has pop!

OK,washing a car the size of the state of Texas isn't much fun so all of a sudden the Tahoe has become the poster child for WPG in this family. The car actually looks good!