Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Brake Service

Discussion in 'E90/E92/E93 M3 (2008-2013)' started by wellardmac, Dec 18, 2013.

wellardmac Ninja World Traveler

I noticed last week that my car was telling me that it need a service in 4600 miles. After checking the onboard computer I see that it's saying the front brake pads will need changing.

I'm left scratching my head on this one, some maybe someone can enlighten me. I've never, ever come across a car that tells the driver of a brake service by miles driven, rather than actual wear. All my other cars have brake sensors and I'm left bewildered that some engineer at BMW thought this was a smart idea.

So, help me out here other than taking off the wheel to inspect the pads (and I'm no expert on judging brake wear), what's the best way to approach this?

I know my dealer will happily change the pads, even if they don't need it. Despite owning a BMW I'm not really a fan of wasting money when it's not needed, does the car also have brake sensors that tell me when the pads actually need changing?

charlson89