Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Drift that Mini?

Discussion in 'R56 Cooper, Cooper S (2006-2013)' started by SJAE30PLZ, May 3, 2011.

SJAE30PLZ guest

Well now I am a die-hard BMW lover.. but my mom (in charge of all major car purchases in my near future) insists that we get a 'new' car rather than my coveted E30. I can't argue with a new car, but there is obviously no way she will get a mano teenager like myself a new BMW (she drives a Kia [EW] herself) so she proposed a Mini. She will also be replacing her Kia as it occasionally will refuse to go into 5th- unacceptable. SO we may be in the market for TWO NEW MINIS! :D Not too shabby- still BMWs at heart.. so anywho, I wanted to get your opinion on how much a standard mini base model would need to be lowered in order to drift well with minimal body-roll (if at all) I am a total noob to drifting- only drifted a few times, but I want to get into AutoX and more importantly Gymkhana, so my mini will need some prep- what should I do first?

Terse

Drifting a mini seems like it would be interesting. Why not wait for the mini sports coupe? I don't recall if it's FF layout or FR. Anyone know?

[IMG]

Maybe a 1 series might be an option.

Zeichen311

First? Drive. Drive a lot. Enter a bunch of events. Drive some more. Get instruction from experienced competitors (many at Club events will be happy to ride along and give pointers), then drive even more. When you notice your performance (times, consistency) plateau, then think about altering the car. The capabilities of these cars, straight from the factory, are incredibly high. Learn to use all that potential before you change anything--you'll spend your money far more wisely.