Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

540i Sport - Track questions

Discussion in 'E39 (1997-2003)' started by dmmai, Dec 20, 2010.

dmmai

Hey gang ...
    . . .
    I've been driving a 2002 540iA Sport for the last 6 years as one of my regular street cars. The car hasn't been run on track days (except for a couple of noon/lunch moderate speed touring lap sessions). I haven't taken part in a "track day" event ... yet ... but now I'm considering it for next year.

First question: Is this porky creature at all appropriate for such activities (HPDE) ?
    The car has the Sport suspension/gearing/tires but with the Steptronic automatic transmission. It's quite fast, but I would imagine that braking will be a considerable challenge for the 3800 lb car. What brake pads would be the best compromise for street/track use?

2nd question: What preparation/maintenance items should I be looking at? The car is bone stock, having only had routine maintenance/upkeep. All suspension components are original.

3rd question: It's shod with staggered Yoko ADVAN ultra-performance all-season tires. A relatively good compromise street tire for the midwest. What kind of life might I expect from these tires with occasional track day use? I'll not be trying to turn the world backwards on it's axis with my speed, but I want to have a little fun.

4th question: What haven't I thought of ?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and help.

D

MGarrison

Yes, no problem. It will have to pass a thorough tech inspection before the event. Budget time & money for any needed work in advance of your driver's school.

Search bimmerworld.com and turnermotorsport.com, no need to start off with a full bore race pad compound - but not a bad idea to go for something more than just stock. You might want to opt for a brake fluid with a higher boiling point. ATE Super Blue is popular.