Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Newbie looking for tire guidance

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by BruceBeauchamp, Jul 12, 2010.

BruceBeauchamp guest

Hello all,

I'm a newbie here. We had an E36 many years ago, loved it. Recently acquired a mint and sweet E46 330 Ci convertible with the ZSP sport package, and guess what, WE LOVE IT! But it's going to need tires soon and I'm lost. Presently it has Bridgestone Pontenza RE40 ZR18 225/40 front and 255/35 back. They seem OK, about the only complaint is that I don't like the way it handles on the snow tire damaged roads here in the northwest. The tires seem to tug me all over the place when dealing with the ruts.

Here is the help I'm looking for:

(1) I don't want to lose the BMW on-center feel. If anything I want more of it.
    (2) I enjoy driving briskly but we're in our early 60's so brisk to us is probably tame for you whippersnappers.
    (3) Feel and handling is more important than noise and longevity but I'd like it all, if possible.
    (4) I'd like to spend less than $400 per wheel.

Thanks so much in advance for guidance on this!

Bruce

floydarogers

You're kind of asking for two different things. The tramlining (rut following) and crashing on potholes is due to the low-profile sport package setup. You won't be really able to address those complaints without changing the wheels to something in the 17" diameter (and even then it won't be totally gone, only reduced in severity). Changing tires to a lower performance type likely won't be possible because the sizes you need are only available as high performance ones similar to what you already have.