Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

all wheel drive vs. rear wheel drive

Discussion in 'Warranty questions' started by smack, Apr 4, 2010.

smack guest

Hello, my name is Mike and I have a few questions to ask. First off I will be buying a new 2011 E91 Touring. I am a mechanic in the Air force and am confident in doing my own repairs. I have an 07 E90 335i and will be getting the touring for the wife. I know it is mandatory to run snow tires on BMW's as I was stationed in Germany with mine however I want to know if the all wheel drive is worth having compared to a rear wheel drive with snows. Since I am military I could be moved all around the world so I would need something that wont have problems when the snow gets real deep. I know the maintenance will be more in depth with all wheel drive and want to avoid that if at all possible.
    Thanks,

ForcedInduction guest

The AWD is very desirable for many people in wet or snow. Some purist don't believe in AWD but I personally would not be without AWD if I have a choice. The maintenance may or may not be any higher but the fun factor and traction are indisputable..

az3579

It depends...

If you plan on modifying your car in any kind of performance aspect, with regards to lowering or suspension stuff, get a RWD car.

If it's just a daily driver and will be mostly untouched, go AWD.

AWD Bimmers appear to be unstoppable in the snow. I've been in one going uphill on nearly bald all-seasons with snow covering the hill unplowed and it just blasted right through it!

tkundhi guest

If it makes your wife more comfortable then sure get AWD. But you don't need it. She'll get around fine with RWD & proper snow tires until the snow is too high and the car starts pushing it with the front spoiler. Then you'll end up high centering the car. AWD won't help in that situation.