Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

removing carbon build up

Discussion in 'DIY (Do-It-Yourself)' started by koshbmw, Sep 7, 2009.

koshbmw guest

how can i remove carbon build up on my 325i intake valves without doing any damage to my engine? can i use a product called restore and will this work effectively?

sunnyandrich

Dunno.

How do you know there's carbon build up?

Bavauto (www.bavauto.com) sells a product called Lubro-Moly Jectron, might be an option:

http://www.bavauto.com/fland.asp?part=LMERK&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=googlebase&utm_source=LMERK

I'm no expert, have never used this stuff; be curious what the more knowledgeable folks thought about this as well.

Part of me thinks this stuff is mostly snake oil. :)

conechaser

I think "Restore" is designed more for cars with low compression... if I remember the commercials from Speed channel. You may want to look for a product called "Seafoam" I know dealers can also do a carbon build up removal that is more thorough (but also more quite a bit more expensive)

az3579

Not sure, but isn't this what a Porsche tune-up is for? Give it the beans every now and then. :)

Brian A

If you are just refering to all the gunk that can attach itself to the valves, modern "Top Tier" gasolines have detergents to remove that stuff.

"Top Tier" gasolines are discussed extensively in other threads in this forum plus at:
    http://www.toptiergas.com/

M3Driver guest

Is carbon build-up even a real problem these days with unleaded fuel???:confused:

koshbmw guest

carbon build up

i came to the conclusion about carbon build up from an online website ( ask a mechanic ). my question to him was, why did my bmw have what seemed to be a split second misfire while sitting at idle ? i put it in the shop and they did not find any codes out of sinc.

koshbmw guest

koshbmw