Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

BMW OEM Filter Failure

Discussion in 'Warranty questions' started by jlee33, Aug 23, 2009.

jlee33 guest

I've been a mechanical engineer for 28 years, still at it, and I've been a shade tree mechanic since I was a kid. I feel like I know a bit about how things mechanical should or should not be. I just changed my oil for the second time on my '05 330i. I got lazy and had the dealer do the free changes at standard interval under warranty. First time I changed oil myself at the 15K interval after warranty expiration (I've never been comfortable with that long interval) I usedd BMW oil and filter from the dealer. This time around, just yesterday, I dumped that oil at 10,400 miles. I did a close inspection of the used filter, (it's just how I do things). I was looking betweeen the fan folded pleats to see what I could see. The filter looked good til I got to the seam where the ends of the fan folded filter sheet are just butted up and glued together. The glue had failed completely. The filter was wide open along this seam. I'm dissapointed my car doesn't deserve a better filter design than this. Pretty sure this was a Mann Filter, it came from the BMW dealer. I'll look at my records. I used Amsoil 5W40 synthetic this go around. Had to use another Mann Filter HU925/4X with the cheap glued seam, made in Mexico by the way.
    Other than the lousy butt end seam the filter seems OK. A simple solution might be to interlace then glue the folds at the very ends so that a glue failure would not be a catastrophy. Is there a real flter out there for these cars? Am I forced to use these lousy filters on my rather expensive German Ultimate Driving machine? Talk of quality is cheap talk in this case.

az3579

Perhaps you just got a defective filter? It's possible that the filters are fine, just that you got a dud.