Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

If your not sure about trying autocross???

Discussion in 'Autocross' started by Wanderlustbob, May 18, 2009.

Wanderlustbob guest

I am very excited to say I had the chance to participate in my first autocross Sunday May 17, 2009. To put it into one word:

WOW!

So after only buying my first BMW at the end of March and watching the event in April I decided to give it a try.

Now of course considering that a new car is expensive I did worry about the idea of running my new baby in such an event. But hey its only a car, right? Well the ultimate driving machine but still a car.

I hope all the chapters are as awesome as the Houston Chapter because I have to tell you that everyone was extremely nice and helpful. As a newbie I didnt bring too much with me. Only a headwrap to wear under the loaner helmet.

But no sooner then I arrived people offered to help me with everything from a tire guage, air pump, painters tape, loaner helmet, a free ride around to see what it was like, an instructor to ride with me on my first several trips always giving good advice and encouragment from so many of the members.

I was very nervous before my turn to run because I was afraid to have an accident but everyone just reminded me to take my time and learn the course and my car.

And I learned some very important lessons. My true one and only competition was myself. I did have two DNF (did not finish) runs but everyone was saying it was a tough course. I just went the wrong way around a cone. But on my other three runs I improved my time roughly by 2 seconds each time. I didnt have the worst time of the day and LOTS of people had DNFs. I also learned to try to look ahead and think ahead to the next turn and turn early before you think you need to. And so many other helpful things.