Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

ride/hotlap passenger rules??

Discussion in 'Autocross' started by 135tdw, Mar 25, 2009.

135tdw guest

I am new to bmwcca and unsure what the rules are for me to take passengers for hot laps during autocross events. I am used to scca where you have to be an scca member to ride along, is this the case with bmwcca? If so can you purchase weekend memberships as with scca????

mattm

I am not sure on BMWCCA insurance regs, but ya oughta join the Club anyway. Chances are your local club will discount your entry fee by being a member. *

Your local BMWCCA may have an "approved" instructor list that might be able to take you for a ride in their car or your car (or ride shot gun in your car). They may even offer an autocross school for their new members and rookies.

I cannot tell what part of the country you are from, but update us with that info and someone can get you in touch with a local region.

If you are in New York or Massachusetts I would be happy to assist you. Boston-BMWCCA and NER-SCCA let me instruct and I "think" Metro-NY would let me. :)

With SCCA the temporary membership has a lot to do with insurance, too.

*You get Roundel Magazine with that membership, discounts on new car purchases and CPO cars. Satch's column is also good for wrapping fish, starting a fire, bird cage lining, etc. [IMG]

135tdw guest

I am myself a new member but would like to take friends for rides on autocross practice days. I am from san diego, california

CRKrieger

Depends almost entirely on the chapter. Ask them.

mattm

I think that most regions would prefer to have their instructors take passengers. All IMO. If I was the event chair, that's what I would prefer.

SD is a long way fromthe Northeast. :D

CRKrieger