Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Ethanol

Discussion in 'E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006-2011)' started by bimmerque, Mar 10, 2009.

tiFreak

I don't mind prices going up, it sucked when I had to pay almost $6 a gallon for premium but I got by, I don't like the idea of my fuel pump and injectors getting gummed up with corn

ethanol doesn't even make that big a difference, we have to use petroleum products to make it and transport it, it's all so the government can put on their little show and pretend they're making such a big difference in the enviroment. I'm really very unbiased in politics, I don't pay attention to what they're doing at 20 I'm not registered to vote, but this is one thing I'm really against

rbindc

Your comment regarding Big Ag is spot on! I'm an energy consultant working in Washington DC. Our ethanol program is a national disgrace. The government subsidizes ethanol production through a tax credit to refiners that blend the ethanol with gasoline. The taxpayers pick up the bill to the tune of approximately $5 billion per year to replace about 2 percent of gasoline consumption. That works out to about $2.00 per gallon ON TOP OF THE COST OF THE GASOLINE!

And guess what. The ethanol program saves almost NO ENERGY because it takes almost as much energy to produce a gallon of ethanol as the energy the gallon contains! It also doesn't save greenhouse gasses because much of the energy is produced from polluting coal-fired power plants and the upward pressure it puts on food prices is incenting the clearing of the Brazilian rain forest, which absorbs CO2.

So why are we shooting ourselves in the foot? Because congressmen from the Midwes want the farm vote. As the saying goes in DC, the US has the best congress that money can buy!

CRKrieger