Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

2000 740il

Discussion in 'E38 (1995-2001)' started by ricco39, Jan 4, 2009.

ricco39 guest

i am a newbie to beemers and am thinking of buying an 00 740il i am the new owner of a e30 and am restoring that car. once i finish with it i will only drive it in spring summer and fall. it wont see the snow because of lowered height and body kit. so my next move is 740il. dont know about it a whole lot and all info about the car good and bad will be greatly appreciated. also i will be looking to make improvements be it tire/wheels and engine/suspension. so if i could get some direction on what i should do first to correct problems or just improve i thank all who give advice.
    • Technical Service Advisor

mooseheadm5

Make sure you get service records and have enough money to cover up to $1500 in basic engine maintainence and repairs around the 100k mark if they haven't been done.

ricco39 guest

740il

thanks moose but what will i be looking to fix in specifics please. this way i know what i am getting into thanks for your help

mooseheadm5

Resealing the valley pan gasket and intake manifold costs around a grand. PS hoses can leak and are a PITA to replace. O2 sensors are well over $100 ea and are scheduled for replacement around 110k (but they usually last longer.) Resealing valve covers is usually necessary around 100k. Have had instances of mutiple coil pack replacements, though rare. Plugs cost $14 each, blug boots $8 each. Blower motor final stage often needs replacement (causes uncontrolled fan operation, sometimes even with the car off which drains the battery.)

ChrisV