Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Best Tires for Year-Round Use: 2005 330i Performance Pkg

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by OkieBimmer, Dec 3, 2008.

OkieBimmer guest

I'm new to my 05 E46 / 330i / ZHP package. I've driven it for a sum total of only 6 days! I've owned a lot of Bimmers in the past (2002, 320i, 325e, 325i, 540i), but only the 540i had low aspect ratio tires--and it was "touchy" too. On the 540i, there were a lot of vibration and noise issues on the 17" rims until I straightened it out with Michelin Pilot Sport A/S tires.

Right now, I've got only 33K miles on this pristine lease return 05 330i with 18" staggered wheels. Tires are Bridgestone Potenza RE040 225/40ZR18 front, 255/35ZR18 rear. Tires must not be the originals, because they still have about 70% tread left. Front left appears very lightly cupped on outer band. All 4 tires make a lot of noise and are very numb, now that we have cold weather in Oklahoma. I will admit that the car handles like a go-kart. Of course, it rides like one too.

I intend to drive this car a lot. It will be my everyday commuter and long distance customer visit car. Probably 20K miles per year.

I need to get a set of tires on this car that I can live with day-to-day and for the long haul. I've got a truck to drive when it is really slick outside, but still need to be able to drive in the rain or light snowfalls if I'm stranded a long way from home.

One candidate tire set is the relatively new Michelin Pilot Sport A/S Plus tire. Tire Rack has a warning on their website that the tires will ride even more roughly due to higher load service ratings (92/94 vs. 88/90). This gives me some pause, but I really like the 45000 mile warranty and the all season capability.

Can any of you advise me if this tire would be acceptable? Anybody with this tire on this particular car? Comments?