Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

335xi vs. 328xi

Discussion in 'E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006-2011)' started by rlengyel, Oct 10, 2008.

rlengyel

I'm looking for advice on a 3 series. I'm new to BMW; 2008 535xi for about 4 months now. Love the car! I am considering buying a 3 series for my son, 2008 or 2009 xi (northeast winters). Other than more HP in the 335xi and its higher cost, what else should I be considering? Is one more reliable than the other? Any other considerations?

Sorry, but I also posted on the 3 series forum, too.

Reef guest

Can I be your son? I promise I won't move back in with you when times are tough. I prefer the 335.

Seriously though, there isn't a whole lot of difference other than trim and power. I'm on schedule to get my first BMW around April of 2010 (335i hard top conv) and I figure if I've had to scrimp and save this long to get my dream car, I'm getting what I really want.

az3579

Well, look at it this way: The 335i is just that much more complicated than the 328i. You've got turbos in the equation, and sooner or later, those things are going to die and need replacement, which can be costly. Is the car going to be kept beyond the warranty? If so, I suggest the 328. But, if he likes performance (who doesn't), then the 335i might be worth having. Usually, people who enjoy performance are willing to put up with the extra maintenance.

Besides, he's getting a brand new BMW, why should he have a choice? lol

Autohaus guest

Are you leaning towards the coupe or 4-dr version of either the 335 or 328?

rlengyel

Probably 4 door.

Autohaus guest

Since you are going to buy a new BMW for your son (what a dad!) then pull out all the stops and get the 335xi. Case closed :).

lugnut guest