Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

First Autocross

Discussion in 'Autocross' started by Arash2002tii, Jul 29, 2008.

Arash2002tii guest

I'm going to participate in my first autocross in one week and was wondering if you guys had any pointers that would be of use. Any tips are greatly appreciated. Thanks! I'm a frequent mountain road driver if that makes any difference (my guess is it makes no difference at all). Hope to hear from you pros. ;)

Bimmerdan

The thread below this one ( http://stage.bmwcca.org/forum/showthread.php?t=2849 ) has a lot of great information regarding autocrossing for the first time.

Aside from proper car preparation, be sure to walk the course, take rides with instructors or experienced drivers if possible, talk to the other competitors and tell them it's your first time (like I said in the other thread, we were ALL first timers at one point so we know exactly what it feels like).

The only driving tip I'll give you is... LOOK AHEAD!!

Brian A

Bimmerdan

Nice!! Definitely worth some style points and those are always crowd favorites!!
    [IMG][IMG][IMG][IMG]

az3579

LMFAO!!!
    That really just made my day! I love the technical descriptions of what's going on in the picture! :D
    I've actually made that into my wallpaper...

Anyway, the link Bimmerdan posted has some very useful tips for autocross.
    +1 on checking out that link first.

wanesso

First time

These guys in this forum have helped me tremendously (and I still haven't experienced the first autocross event yet)--be sure to look at all these autocross threads and links over the past two weeks for the great advice they gave. (wanesso). When you get back from the first time, please let me know what you think and how you did!

wanesso

autocross class

How is one's class determined? Does that have to be labeled to the car with your number?

CRKrieger