Hello there and welcome to the BMW Car Club of America.

If you are a BMW CCA member, please log in and introduce yourself in our Member Introductions section.

Rev matching

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Apex000, May 22, 2010.

Apex000

Okay , so i will admit that i am an amateur in the world of manual transmissions. The 3er i own is my first car with a manual transmission and i execute all basic techniques very well (get the car moving with out jerking, properly shifting , proper clutch usage).

But i have not a clue of to properly rev match . although this morning on my way to work i go lucky and had a perfect rev match , i tried it again and failed :mad:

anyway, can someone please give me some advice ?

thanks

CRKrieger

There is no advice to give. Practice is what does it. You need to get used to your gearbox (each one is different) and your throttle response and practice, practice, practice. It will come to you.

Apex000

hmm Thanks :)
    • Staff

steven s

Some is going to depend on your throttle cable too.
    My cable was so worn and dirty that it was difficult to blip the throttle.
    Replacing the cable was like night and day.

MGarrison

Well - there's rev matching on UP-shifting, & then there's matching revs when DOWN-shifting...

As CR says, it is a matter of practice, and gaining familiarity with your car.

Rev matching on up-shifts is fairly straightforward - depress clutch, change gears, revs fall (which you can control through throttle modulation), release clutch in time to where the rpms in the next gear will match the speed you'll be going. Feedback: instant; mis-time it, and you'll get a lurch as the engine is either sped up to match the drivetrain, or the drivetrain is shocked by the rpms being too high for whatever speed you're going. You have to factor in how quickly you're accelerating and how quickly engine revs fall and how quickly you're. shifting, but, yes, that all should come with practice.